Notes on Contributors

Fabian Balardini is Assistant Professor of Economics at the Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC), of the City University of New York (CUNY). He is the author of Oil Price Cycles: 1973-2010: A Theoretical and Empirical Investigation using Marx’s Theory of Value. <ABalardini@bmcc.cuny.edu>

Angie Beeman is Assistant Professor of Sociology at BMCC. She has published work on predatory lending, racism, film, and domestic violence. She is working on a book on color-blind ideology in interracial social movement organizations. <angie.beeman@gmail.com>

Deborah Gambs is Assistant Professor of Sociology at BMCC. Her fields of interest include Visual Sociology, Science & Technology Studies, Cultural Studies, and Feminist Theory. <dgambs@gmail.com>

Jesse Goldstein is a PhD candidate in Sociology at the CUNY Graduate Center, and a fellow at the Center for Place Culture and Politics. He is a former member of the Space 1026 printshop and artist collective in Philadelphia, and now works with the OWS Screenprinters Guild and Occuprint. <jesse@space1026.com>

Ron Hayduk teaches political science at BMCC. He has written about social movements, race, immigration, and democracy. He is on the editorial board of S&D and is active with the faculty/staff union of CUNY. <rhayduk@igc.org>

Richard A. Jones teaches philosophy at Howard University in Washington, D.C.
<rajones19@cox.net>

George Katsiaficas is the author, most recently, of Asia’s Unknown Uprisings, 2 vols. (2012). He is on the editorial board of S&D and teaches at the Wentworth Institute of Technology in Boston. <katsiaficas@gmail.com>

Rose M. Kim is Assistant Professor of Sociology at BMCC. She co-edited Struggle for Ethnic Identity: Narratives of Asian American Professionals (1999). Her articles have appeared in Ethnic and Racial Studies and Amerasia Journal. She previously worked as a journalist at New York Newsday and the Los Angeles Times. <rosemkim@aol.com>

Joel Kovel is the author, most recently, of The Enemy of Nature and Overcoming Zionism. He was a founder of the Ecosocialist International Network in 2007, and last year, of Ecosocialist Horizons. <jskovel@gmail.com>

Jacob Kramer is Assistant Professor of History at BMCC.  He has written for History News Network, The History Teacher, and Reviews in American History, and is currently writing a book on progressive views of radicalism. <JKramer@bmcc.cuny.edu>

Geoffrey Kurtz is Assistant Professor of Political Science at BMCC and a frequent contributor to Logos: A Journal of Modern Society and Culture. He is writing a book on the political thought of Jean Jaurès. <GKurtz@bmcc.cuny.edu>

Thomas Powell is an artist and writer living in Sacramento, California. From 1991-97 he was the contract conservator for the City of Albuquerque Art In Public Places Program where he witnessed many of the situations described in this essay.
<unfinityorbust@gmail.com>

Benjamin Shepard is the author/editor of five books including The Beach Beneath the Streets: Contesting New York’s Public Spaces (with co-author Greg Smithsimon), and Play, Creativity and Social Movements: If I Can’t Dance It’s Not My Revolution. <bshepard@citytech.cuny.edu>

Darko Suvin, writer, scholar, critic and poet, born in Zagreb, Yugoslavia, has taught in Europe and North America. He was Professor of English and Comparative Literature at McGill University, was editor of two scholarly journals, wrote 18 books and many articles on Comparative Literature and Dramaturgy, Theory of Culture, Utopian and Science Fiction, and Political Epistemology; and published three volumes of poetry.
<dsuvin@gmail.com>

Victor Wallis, the managing editor of S&D, teaches in the Liberal Arts department at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. He is the author of many articles on political ecology and other topics. <zendive@aol.com>

 

This entry was posted in 59, Volume 26, No. 2. Bookmark the permalink.